Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

J Sainsbury plc welcomes David Keens on its Board as a non-executive director from 29 April 2015

LONDON, 2015-4-28 — /EPR Retail News/ — J Sainsbury plc today announces that David Keens will join the Board as a non-executive director from 29 April 2015. This follows the previously announced retirement of Gary Hughes who will step down at the company’s AGM on 8 July 2015.

David was the Group Finance Director of Next plc from 1991 to March 2015 and played a significant part in the success of Next in that period.  He will join the Audit Committee on 29 April and become its Chairman on 8 July 2015.

Commenting on the appointment David Tyler, Sainsbury’s Chairman, said: “First, I would like to thank Gary very much for everything he has done for Sainsbury’s over the last ten years.  He has been a highly effective Chairman of the Audit Committee and has made a very valuable contribution to the Board.

We are delighted to welcome David Keens as a non-executive director. His deep retail experience and his knowledge of fast-moving consumer business are particularly relevant at a time when we are growing our own successful non-food ranges. This, together with his considerable skills in finance, makes him an ideal addition to our Board.”

Notes to editors

The Board of J Sainsbury plc is chaired by David Tyler. Executive directors are Mike Coupe, chief executive and John Rogers, chief financial officer. Non-executive directors are Matt Brittin, Mary Harris, Gary Hughes, John McAdam, Jean Tomlin and Susan Rice.

For corporate press enquiries please contact or call 020 7695 7295.

If you’re calling out of office hours, please call 020 7695 7295 and you will be redirected to the duty press officer. If your call is not redirected immediately, please call 08145 6033763 or email

EPR Retail News