Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

The 2017 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards: Top 20 Retailers

Melbourne, Australia, 2017-Jun-28 — /EPR Retail News/ — Judging of the 2017 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards is now underway, with a list of Top 20 Retailers already announced ahead of the Awards breakfast on Thursday August 3rd, at the National Gallery of Victoria.

With the coveted 2017 Retailer of the Year Award one of the hardest awards to judge, the Australian Retailers Association (ARA) has reimagined the selection process and worked with industry experts to determine what constitutes the ‘best in retail’ in the evolving sector.

This year, the ARA commissioned the Australian Consumer, Retail, and Services (ACRS) research unit within the Monash Business School to undertake the ARA’s Top 20 Retailers research project.

The ACRS research provided ARA with an overview of the Top 20 Retailers in Australia from a variety of secondary resources, including IBISWorld reports, annual reports, news articles, and company websites.

Russell Zimmerman, ARA Executive Director, said this revised methodology, coupled with mystery shopping initiatives and field agency surveys, ensures the highest-standard of credibility and integrity in awarding this prestigious award.

“This robust Retailer of the Year adjudication process is vital in deciding the winner of what we consider the greatest honour in the Australian retail industry,” Mr Zimmerman said.

“With the extraordinary calibre of leading Australian retailers in the field, this new meticulous awards process ensures that the impartial panel of judges are well-equipped to decide who is the most deserving of the 2017 Retailer of the Yearcrown.”

While a record number of entries were received by the ARA this year, the ARA’s Top 20 Retailers were determined by several essential factors including; company culture, fiscal performance, corporate responsibility, marketing initiatives and customer engagement strategies.

The 2017 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards: Top 20 Retailers

  • Aldi
  • Big W
  • Bunnings Warehouse
  • Chemist Warehouse
  • Cotton On
  • Dan Murphy’s
  • David Jones
  • EB Games
  • Harvey Norman
  • IKEA
  • JB Hi Fi
  • Kmart Australia
  • Myer
  • Officeworks
  • Spotlight
  • Supercheap Auto
  • Target
  • The Good Guys
  • Toys ‘R’ Us
  • Woolworths

Tickets to the 2017 Awards Breakfast can be purchased at

For interview opportunities or to secure a media pass to the eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards at the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne on August 3, contact the ARA Media team on 0439 612 556 or email

About the eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards:

First held in the 1970s, the eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards are the nation’s longest running and most prestigious retail event, recognising and rewarding outstanding retail businesses, innovations, and individuals across all sectors of retail. Relaunched in 2008, the annual 2017 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards breakfast will commence on Thursday 3 August at Melbourne’s National Gallery of Victoria.

About the Australian Retailers Association:

Founded in 1903, the Australian Retailers Association (ARA) is the retail industry’s peak representative body representing Australia’s $310 billion sector, which employs more than 1.2 million people. The ARA works to ensure retail success by informing, protecting, advocating, educating and saving money for its 7,500 independent and national retail members throughout Australia.

For more information, visit or call 1300 368 041.

Source: Australian Retailers Association

EPR Retail News