SM Vice Chairperson Teresita Sy-Coson honored with the Man of the Year award from the Management Association of the Philippines

SM Vice Chairperson Teresita Sy-Coson honored with the Man of the Year award from the Management Association of the Philippines


Pasay City, Philippines, 2016-Dec-13 — /EPR Retail News/ — Ms. Teresita Sy-Coson received this year the prestigious Man of the Year award from the Management Association of the Philippines (MAP), the same great honor bestowed on her father, retail pioneer Henry Sy, Sr. 17 years ago.

Mr. Sy, in his acceptance speech then said that the “day will come when I will look at this MAP award and remember the work it honors”.

Today, that day has come for his eldest child, Mrs. Coson who was cited by MAP for steering SM’s retail business to greater heights; for transforming SM’s property business into one of the largest integrated property developers in Southeast Asia; for her valuable contribution in sustaining BDO’s position as a leading bank; for her leadership in the substantial contributions of SM to national development, job creation and income generation; for strengthening the identity of companies under SM as socially responsible corporate citizens; and for her contribution to reshaping national values through her track record of integrity, professional competence and strong leadership.

The prestigious roster of MAP Man of the year awardees include:  Washington Z. SyCip (1967), Geronimo Z. Velasco (1977), Henry A. Brimo (1978), Jose M. Soriano (1979), Cesar E.A. Virata (1981), Jaime V. Ongpin and Vicente T. Paterno (1982), Dante G. Santos (1983), Cesar A. Buenaventura and Roberto T. Villanueva (1985), Jaime Zobel  de Ayala (1987), Ramon V. del Rosario, Sr. (1988), Jose B. Fernandez, Jr. (1989), Raul T. Concepcion (1990), Oscar J. Hilado (1991), Alfonso T. Yuchengco (1992), Juan B. Santos (1994), David  M. Consunji and Rizalino S. Navarro (1996), Gabriel C. Singson (1998), Delfin L. Lazaro and Henry Sy, Sr. (1999), Oscar M. Lopez (2000), Tony Tan Caktiong (2002), Jesus P. Tambunting (2003),  Rafael B. Buenaventura (2004), Manuel V. Pangilinan (2005), George S. K. Ty and Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala (2006), Jose L. Cuisia Jr. (2007), Antonino T. Aquino and Jesus P. Estanislao (2009), Lilia B. de Lima and Ramon R. del Rosario, Jr. (2010), Erramon Aboitiz (2011), Aurelio R. Montinola III (2012), Edgar O. Chua (2013), Albert F. del Rosario (2014) and Amando M. Tetangco, Jr. (2015).

Source: SM Investments Corporation


SM Vice Chair Teresita Sy-Coson awarded for her vision and management excellence by BizNews Asia

Pasay City, Philippines, 2015-12-11 — /EPR Retail News/ — SM Investments Corporation (SM) Vice Chair Teresita Sy-Coson was awarded for her vision and management excellence by BizNews Asia, one of the country’s most influential weekly business and news magazines.

BizNews Asia’s citation for Sy-Coson stated that she led SM and BDO Unibank, Inc. into becoming “huge, profitable, market dominant and pace setting conglomerates without losing their focus on consumer welfare and the betterment of society and the environment.”

Sy-Coson is the Chair of BDO. Aside from SM and BDO, she has been been largely involved in the development of Shoemart, the retail business which her father, Henry Sy, Sr. built.

BizNewsAsia was founded in 2001 by Antonio “Tony” Lopez, one of the most senior, multi-awarded, and experienced Asian journalists.  The magazine has a pass-on circulation of 350,000 readers.

The Entrepreneurship Excellence Awardees for vision and management also included: Ramon S. Ang, president and vice chairman of San Miguel Corp.; Felipe L. Gozon, chair and CEO, GMA Network, Inc.;  Edmund Gaisano Sr., chair, Gaisano Capital; Andrew Tan, chair-CEO, Alliance Global, Inc.; Manuel B. Villar Jr., chair, Vista Land; Edgar “Injap” Sia, chair-CEO, DoubleDragon Properties, Inc.; Amable R. Aguiluz V, founder, AMA Group of Companies; and Zenaida Tantoco, chair-CEO, Stores Specialists, Inc.

Shown in the photo are former President Fidel Ramos, SM’s Mrs. Coson and BizNews founder, chairman and president Tony Lopez.

SOURCE: SM Investments Corporation


Photo courtesy of BizNews Asia

Photo courtesy of BizNews Asia

SM Investments Corporation Chairman Henry Sy, Sr. awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by CNBC at the St Regis hotel in Singapore

Pasay City, Philippines, 2014-11-12— /EPR Retail News/ — Henry Sy, Sr., Chairman of SM Investments Corporation (SM) and founder of the 56-year old company was awarded by top CNBC officials a prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at a well-attended ceremony at the St Regis hotel in Singapore.

Known as the Father of Philippine Retail, Sy successfully built SM into the industry’s most dominant player in the country by adopting a highly progressive and innovative approach in expanding the retail business. With his vision, passion and hard work, Sy transformed his company, Shoemart, from a humble shoe retailing business, into SM, now a highly recognizable brand and icon owned by one of the Philippines’ largest conglomerates with interests and presence in retail, banking, and property.

SM Vice Chairperson Teresita Sy-Coson who received the award on behalf of her father said, “We are very happy that our father was recognized beyond the Philippines. What makes him happy, makes us also very happy. On behalf of my father and the rest of the family, thank you for this award.”

CNBC pioneered the Asia Business Leaders Awards (ABLA) in 2001 to recognize regional business leaders for their commitment to excellence, and to develop best practices and innovative strategies. ABLA distinguishes and honors leaders who have contributed and shaped the Asian economy, and are visionaries behind today’s outstanding businesses.

Winners of the Awards exemplify the best in leadership. They epitomize the core values of a successful leader which include: strength, innovation, ingenuity, knowledge and foresight – values that are believed to be imperative to carve out sustainable and successful businesses in the global economy.

Past winners of CNBC’s prestigious awards include Ratan Tata of India’s Tata Sons & Tata Trusts, Khun Dhanin Chearavanont, Chairman & CEO of Thailand’s C P Group, N R Narayana Murthy, Chairman of India’s Infosys and Gordon Wu, Chairman of Hong Kong’s Hopewell Holdings.

The corporate winners are judged by an independent panel comprising CNBC’s knowledge partner, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business, our research partner Development Dimensions International and CNBC management.

# # #

About SM Investments Corporation
SM Investments Corporation (SM) is one of the leading conglomerates in the Philippines with highly synergistic businesses in retail, banking and property development. SM has evolved into one of the highly respected companies in the country owing to its progressive approach in business and its comprehensive sustainability programs for its host communities through SM Foundation and SM Cares.

SM’s retail operations enjoy a strong brand franchise consisting of The SM Store and its food retail chains namely SM Supermarket, SM Hypermarket, Savemore and WalterMart stores. SM’s property arm, SM Prime Holdings, Inc. is among the largest integrated property developers in the Philippines with interests in mall, residential, commercial and tourism development. SM’s interests in banking are in BDO Unibank, Inc. (BDO), the country’s largest and in China Banking Corporation (China Bank), the fifth largest. Combined, these two banks have a network of over 1,000 branches nationwide.

For further information, please contact:

Elizabeth S. Lacson
SM Investments Corporation


SM Vice Chairperson Teresita Sy-Coson receives the Lifetime Achievement award  from CNBC on behalf of her father, Henry Sy, Sr.

SM Vice Chairperson Teresita Sy-Coson receives the Lifetime Achievement award from CNBC on behalf of her father, Henry Sy, Sr.