NGA presented Associated Wholesale Grocers president and CEO Jerry Garland with its Industry Service Award

Arlington, VA, 2016-Mar-25 — /EPR Retail News/ —The National Grocers Association (NGA) presented Jerry Garland, former president and CEO of Associated Wholesale Grocers (AWG) with its Industry Service Award during the AWG Annual Meeting on Saturday, March 19.

Garland served as president and CEO of AWG from 2009 to 2015. Under his leadership, AWG grew into a $9 billion wholesale cooperative operating nine distribution centers. During his tenure the cooperative has grown sales by 31 percent and increased net income by 70 percent, while lowering operating expenses.

“It is an honor to recognize Jerry, who has been a longtime advocate of the independent supermarket industry with this top award,” said Peter J. Larkin, president and CEO, NGA. “Throughout his career, Jerry has been a steadfast leader and a fierce supporter of ensuring a level playing field for independent supermarket operators and building important relationships among trading partners and elected officials along the way. The industry as a whole, as well as AWG has greatly benefited from his steadfast dedication and commitment throughout his career.”

Established in 1983, the NGA Industry Service Award is given to an individual or company whose years of service in the food industry have contributed to better working relations and understanding between retailers, wholesalers and manufacturers. This award is one of NGA’s highest honors.

Previous Industry Service Award recipients have included Steve Holdiman (Mondelez International), Gary Phillips (AWG), Nick D’Agostino (D’Agostino’s Supermarket), Tom Haggai (IGA), Russ Hockin (Kellogg’s), Chuck Pilliter (Trader Joe’s), Dean Janeway (Wakefern), Joe Burke (Coca-Cola) and Jay Campbell (AG Baton Rouge).

SOURCE: National Grocers Association

Media inquiries: Please email